June 13, 2024

Coventry City Football Club can confirm the players who will be leaving the Sky Blues following the conclusion of the 2022/23 season.

Fankaty Dabo, Julien Dacosta, Todd Kane, Sean Maguire, Michael Rose, Martyn Waghorn and Tyler Walker will all leave the Sky Blues following the conclusion of their contracts.

Under-21s players Will Bapaga, Tom Billson, George Burroughs, Ricardo Dinanga, Aidan Finnegan, Jay McGrath, Harrison Nee and Blaine Rowe will also leave the Club.

Captain Liam Kelly has been offered a new one-year contract with Coventry City, having made 161 appearances and scored 3 goals for the Sky Blues in his distinguished career at the Club so far. The Club will keep supporters updated regarding negotiations regarding the new deal for Liam.

Jonathan Panzo (Nottingham Forest), Callum Doyle (Manchester City), Brooke Norton-Cuffy (Arsenal), Josh Wilson-Esbrand (Manchester City) and Luke McNally (Burnley) return to their parent clubs following the end of their loan deals with the Sky Blues.

Fankaty Dabo joined the Sky Blues in June 2019 and would be a key part of the side that won the 2019/20 League One title, earning the Player of the Year award in the campaign too. Moving with the Club up to the Championship, Dabo remained a popular figure with fans, players and staff alike and would go on to make a total of 131 appearances for Coventry City.

Julien Dacosta joined City in July 2021 and would make 24 appearances for the Club, while Todd Kane made the move to the Sky Blues in August 2021 and played 41 games for City, scoring 1 goal. Sean Maguire leaves following the conclusion of his short-term deal with the Sky Blues, having made 7 appearances for City.

Defender Michael Rose leaves the Sky Blues having joined in the Summer of 2019 and been an integral part of the 2019/20 League One winning side. He would go on to make a total of 119 appearances for Coventry City, finding the net on 4 occasions.

Strikers Martyn Waghorn and Tyler Walker also leave the Club following the end of their contracts. Waghorn joined in the Summer of 2021 and made 42 appearances, scoring 2 goals. Walker made the move to the Sky Blues in August 2020 and was top scorer in the Club’s 2020/21 campaign, the first season back in the Championship. He would eventually go on to make 72 appearances for the Club, scoring 12 goals.

Coming through the Academy, Will Bapaga would make 8 appearances for his hometown side while keeper Tom Billson made one first-team appearance for the Sky Blues. Alongside them, George Burroughs, Ricardo Dinanga, Aiden Finnegan, Jay McGrath, Harrison Nee and Blaine Rowe were all regulars in the Under 21s side that won the PDL Final in 2021/22 and reached the Birmingham Senior Cup Final this season.

All other players currently under contract remain at the Club.

Manager Mark Robins said:

“I would like to thank those who are leaving for their time with us, the contributions that they have made to Coventry City, and wish them all of the best for their future careers.

“In particular, Fankaty Dabo and Michael Rose were huge parts of the side that won the League One title and then established us in the Championship. They will both be fondly remembered for many years to come by all Sky Blues fans, and the outpouring of support for Fanky from our supporters following Saturday goes to show the esteem he is held in.

“I would also like to thank Jonathan, Callum, Brooke, Josh and Luke for the contributions they made this season while on loan with us, and their parent clubs too.

Robins added:

“While Saturday’s result was disappointing, we can be very proud of what we have achieved this season. The work now gets underway to prepare for the 2023/24 campaign and we look forward to going again in what will be another very competitive Championship season.”

Everyone at Coventry City wishes all of the players leaving the Club the very best for the future.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *